рус   |   eng
Sign in   Register
Help |  RSS |  Subscribe
EAJC Participants
EAJC Observers
Ukraine | Russia | Moldova | Azerbaijan | Armenia | Belarus | Bulgaria | Georgia | India | Kazakhstan | Kyrgyzstan | Macedonia | Mongolia | Union of Myanmar | New Zealand | Republic of Singapore | Slovenia | Turkmenistan | Uzbekistan | Phillipines | Japan | Tajikistan | Bosnia and Herzegovina | Republic of Serbia | Montenegro


Ukraine is the legal successor of the Ukrainian SSR. It has an area of 603,7 thousand sq km, and a population of 46 million people (2009 г.).

Ukraine is a presidential-parliamentary system. Its President is Victor Yanukovich (since 2010). The legislative branch isrepresented by a unicameral parliament, the Verkhovna Rada, elected through a system of proportional representation. The parliamentary majority (a coalition consisting of fractions) presents the candidate for Prime Minister to the President, who then has 15 days to consider the candidacy and forward it to the entirety of the Parliament for approval. The parliamentary majority forms the government as a whole.